IIMB hosts Distinguished Alumni Awards 2021

IIMB organized its first virtual DAA ceremony, on 17th April 2021. The awards are usually given out on the pre convocation day, but due to the ongoing pandemic, the schedule was altered to make it convenient for many to attend.

The DAA 2020 awardees are Dhruv Deepak Saxena (PGP 1975-77), Kusum L Ailawadi (PGP 1982-84), and Sangeet Paul Choudary (PGP 2004-06).

Mr. DD Saxena showcases the potential that every IIMB Alumnus possesses in making a difference both in India and in International Markets. Through his involvement in Business, International Image building for India, Sports, Social and Community issues and Successful New Ventures he reminds us that excellence manifests invariably in a multi-dimensional way.

Dr. Kusum L Ailawadi truly represents the power of focused efforts in academics leading to impactful contributions to the chosen area of expertise. She inspires every aspiring IIM Alumnus by signaling that professional excellence can continue to be recognized and rewarded.

Mr. Sangeet Paul Choudary demonstrates how one can make a significant impact by sheer professional excellence, diligence, and hard work and by following the passion than a more familiar path. His widespread participation in International forums reminds us that knowledge and insights that one possesses are always valued and sought after.

The DAA 2021 awardees are Revathy Ashok (PGP 1978-80), J Laxman Rao (PGP 1980-82), and Sameer Nair (PGP 1994-96).

Revathy Ashok has had a very interesting career, beginning with IIMB as a research assistant to MD of Tishman Speyer. Her success in a variety of industries and contributions to social, philanthropic, and academic causes is remarkable”- Faculty DAA Selection Committee

 “Lakshman Rao has made significant contributions as an entrepreneur, having ventured to start the business soon after his term at IIMB. He has successfully grown the business with significant innovations that makes Mold-Tek Packaging an industry leader. He has also been actively contributing to education, healthcare and academia”- Faculty DAA Selection Committee

Sameer Nair, after a successful stint in the world of finance, set up Gram Urja which has made significant social and economic impact in 300 villages spread over 5 states. He actively contributes in different ways in the solar energy sector and is the recipient of several awards”- Faculty DAA Selection Committee”

The awardees shared their journey of life after IIMB and inspired students to pursue their passion. All the recipients were both elated and emotional to receive the award from their alma mater and said that there is no bigger joy than being recognized by the institute from where their journeys began.

IIMB Director Prof. Rishikesha T Krishnan, Dean Alumni Relations & Development Prof. K Kumar, Head Alumni S Parthasarathy, Head Development K Suresh, Alumni & Development office members, students, faculty and staff were present, online.

Please click here to know more about the DAA 2020 recipients..

Please click here to know more about the DAA 2021 recipients..